Gotta Find A Way

Up My Alley (Written 2010)

I walk along a lonely road,
Through empty shopping mall,
The only life for miles around,
Sole heart from wall to wall.

As I walk I see the shops
And all that lays inside,
The clothes and things for men to sell,
But no place I can hide.

I turn and walk another way
And see a different sight:
A store filled full with books and things,
Warmed well into the night.

I take and change and rearrange
And make the place my own.
This place is mine, is mine alone,
I found it and I made it home.

It’s up my alley, up my way,
Come visit if you please,
Or find an alley of your own
With treasures yet to seize.

___

Ah, this was a major reminder and relief to me. I am in a difficult position right now, where I don’t get on very well with my classmates because I care about the class, and I don’t get on well with my teachers because they think that, rather than caring about the class, I am trying to be disrespectful to them when I ask too many questions. So I get really frustrated, and I really want to just take a trip somewhere far, far away. I am always reminding myself that I am not so small that I cannot handle it. I am a tough person, and a firm believer that we can handle as much as we believe we can handle and are willing to try to handle. “I’ve known people that the world has thrown everything at to discourage them…to break their spirit. And yet something about them retains a dignity. They face life and don’t ask quarters. “-Horton Foote. That is something I have always aspired towards. I probably fail. I do whine an awful lot. I think the people who don’t are able to because they are sure of what they are, and value that above comfort. Of course, it probably helps if you are right and justified. But if you don’t know who you are, how are you supposed to stand on your own feet? You don’t even know where they are!

“It is important that we know where we come from, because if you do not know where you come from, then you don’t know where you are, and if you don’t know where you are, you don’t know where you’re going. And if you don’t know where you’re going, you’re probably going wrong.”
―Terry Pratchett

So, I say that everybody need to find their own niche. I am not saying we can just do as we please. There is right, and there is wrong, but we can’t act like the way we do things and the way we fell and think about things is the same. So we need to find our own way to get things done. If that makes sense.

(I am trying to talk to, like, a million people as I type this, so I am sorry if it doesn’t make too much sense.)

Remember to check out the Jog-A-Thon page and drop a dollar or two to my totally awesome school!

Leave a Reply

