Conversation

Talking… (Written April 12, 2013)

I spend half my day just thinking away
’bout everything and nothing at all,
By the end I’ve run out of words to say
’cause I’ve thought all my words to a wall.

I think so much, I think it’s bad,
And I’m told it scares my friends away,
So I try to stop thinking if it makes them mad
And instead find something fun to say.

But then, I find, there are too many words
For me to say what I want to tell,
So I stop to write what I want to be heard,
Then get mad and proceed to yell.

Conversation is not my greatest strength,
Indeed, not a strength at all,
I try my best, I go great lengths,
But those efforts flat they fall.

So I gave up, little quitter I,
And decided to write instead,
For when no one listens I ask why
Should I not tell a story instead?

___

Ah, that was sloppy. =/ It was just a thought on my mind, and this is theoretically a journal of poems, so I figured I should write it into rhythm and rhyme. The rhythm is sloppy, the meter is a mess, and the rhyme leave much to be desired. But there it is, a poem about how I am awful at talking to people. Seriously, I am awkward to talk to. Or at least, I suspect I am. And I apparently scare my classmates! I didn’t expect that. I mean, I am one of those people who is almost always bound to comment very loudly if they catch you cheating on a test, and will probably get all over you for talking bad about teachers. (Sue me! My school was started and run by my family for the past fifty years, I think I can be defensive of it!) And you would think that someone who is always nagging you to follow the rules and respect your teachers would just be, you know, annoying. Right? But I was told by one of my teachers that a few of the students had told him that I scare them. How crazy is that? I mean, do I seem scary to you? So I asked about it, and found that they had said that I am intimidating! So, my amazement never ends. I came to the conclusion that my failure to communicate is the villain. I mean, if somebody who almost goes to the lengths of bullying you to follow the rules never talks I guess it would come off as a little intimidating. But then, I talk all the time, I just stink at it. So I am still at a loss. Maybe I am actually just a scary person. Who knows?

PLEASE, RATE AND COMMENT! FEEDBACK IS MY VERY BEST FRIEND! ALSO! THANK YOU FOR READING ANOTHER (OR, PERHAPS, YOUR FIRST) OF MY POEMS. IF YOU EVER FEEL LIKE I DID A POOR JOB OF SOMETHING (OR, HOWEVER RARE, A GOOD JOB) PLEASE LET ME KNOW! (Sorry, the bold was getting to be just a bit too much.)

So, five weeks in and the Jog-A-Thon has only raised 11k. We are aiming for 60k, so that is a pretty bad number, considering we are halfway done. It is for my school, and it is a great school, so please at least check out my Jog-A-Thon page, ok? Every dollar helps!

Leave a Reply

