When All The World’s A Mess

When All the World’s a Mess (Written June 6, 2013)

I’m not much good at anything,
Not smart or very bright,
Not pretty, athletic, or talented,
Or any much good in a fight.

I cannot cook, I cannot sing,
I’m not much good at art,
I don’t tell a good story or anything,
And my creations just fall apart.

I couldn’t help you with your job,
Or make it easier to do,
I’d probably only make a mess,
But I want to be of use to you.

I want to be a rock for you,
That old and rusty gate,
The home that’s always there for you,
Where your friends and family wait.

I want to be the constant
When nothing stays the same,
So you’ll know, when all the world’s a mess,
I’ll never, ever, change.

___

I must admit, I really don’t have very strong emotions. Or, rather, I would say that, no matter how strong they are, they are most definitely, almost completely, disconnected from my outward and mental states of being. So, I remain the same as I was, for long amounts of time. I like that. People, normal people with healthy emotions, can change so quickly. And when you are facing a sudden change in a person that is putting you and somebody important to you in a very tough spot, I want to be that person you can rely on to always be the same. That, no matter what happens, no matter where we go, I will always be a rock that you will know, and know well. Of course, I am trying to also be the sort of person you want to rely on. I am making it my goal to not complain, or be grouchy. If I can handle school, I want to do everything I can to make it a good place and a good memory for my friends and fellow students. I want to be somebody they will always be able to come back to when they need someone to be there for them. You know? ‘Cause sometimes you need somebody who you aren’t really close with, but can rely on to be honest, and always have a consistent opinion. That is what I want to be. That is part of the reason I want to be a teacher. Because I never had somebody to rely on while I was growing up, and I want to be that rock for my students, come the day, God willing, that I do become a teacher. Until then, I just hope I can be there for my friends, and the people younger than me, and anybody I can be there for. ‘Cause I can handle it. So I need to make sure that they know I can help them too. So! This summer I embark on my mission to become a reliable person! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

