My Resolution

Why Waffle Now? (Written August 6, 2013)

Why on earth should I waffle now?
Why so late should I start to care?
I decided a very long time ago
That I’d always just be prepared.

I never assumed I would ever know
What it was I would one day do,
So instead I got ready for everything
And always tried everything new.

It is hard, I suppose, to do it all,
To learn all there is to know,
But I decided I’d always be prepared
A very long time ago.

___

Yeah, so I mentioned this in my last poem also, but I decided when I was still very young that I should make sure I was ready to do anything at all so that, when I grew up, I wouldn’t have to say I couldn’t do what I wanted to. And I’ve lived by that. I’m awful at math. I struggle so bad. I had the option, a few times, of just taking an easier math class, but I always ended up going for the highest level I could take so that I would know it. ‘Cause, heck, even if it has nothing to do with what you’re doing with your life, you never know when you will need to know some advanced Algebra. It is a useful thing to know. Being ready for anything, and knowing everything, and being able to do whatever I would ever need to, has always been my motivation in school. It certainly couldn’t hurt to have skills and knowledge in every field, obviously, but I was always aiming to be the best in everything. I have yet to succeed in that (HA!) but I think it is a good ambition. Lately though, I find myself thinking silly things like, “But maybe I should just drop this class since I won’t need it” and “But what do I wanna do when I’m done with school?” Like I said, silly thoughts. I decided I would be able to do anything. That isn’t easy, so what am I doing wasting time on such frivolous thoughts? I will follow through with my original decision. Everything I do has always been based on it anyway, so why not continue with it? It is hard, obviously! Who cares? One day I may fall into something that I love to do and will make a life in that. Until then, since I haven’t found that yet, why not take a look at everything? And, if I am going to look at everything, I will need to be able to do anything. I have no reason to be distracted by ‘what if’s. I will do what I set out to do from the start. That is my resolution.

THANK YOU FOR READING, PLEASE TELL ME YOUR THOUGHTS! DID YOU LIKE EVERYTHING THAT IN READING YOU GOT? 

ALSO! PLEASE LOOK LEFT AND SEE ALL THE FUN WAYS TO FOLLOW ME!

Leave a Reply

