Age Quod Agis

A Loss For Words (Written August 15, 2013)

Really, I’m at a loss for words.
So much is changed each day.
With the work and worry and everything else,
I don’t know what to say.

It’s hard to sit down and simply sit,
Hard to sit down at all!
When there’s so much to do and so little time
It’s hard not to trip and fall.

But really, I must say, this is the best,
I can’t stand having wasted time.
I’d rather be working and tired each day
Than waste what time is mine.

So I enjoy all the work and the daily grind,
The days that together get slurred,
Being too busy to ever be bored,
And being at a loss for words.

___

Happy Assumption!

I love being busy. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love relaxing. But I don’t like doing nothing. If you are sitting at home reading a book, or watching a movie, or playing a game, you are doing something. If you are sitting on your couch in a near vegetative state (don’t deny that this happens, I have seen it!) and there is zero brain activity going on, that is what I mean by ‘doing nothing’. It is mostly kind of just how I am, but I like to sit and think. Just that. Sit and think for a few hours. And I mean really, really think. Strain my brain to really, actually, think. One of my teachers once told us in class that if there is one thing we can’t ever let ourselves do it is to stop thinking. He said that is his problem with TV. People start watching and stop thinking. I know what he means. I catch myself doing that sometimes (not often, for me, because I have the opposite problem of thinking too much) and I seriously feel like I then need to go and work out or something. I mean, I love being busy. If my body isn’t moving, I need my brain to be. You know? But it is pleasant. I can’t really understand complaining about ‘mundane’ chores. I think, if you have the will to try, you can find pleasure in every task. For me, that pleasure is often in the form of the drive to do everything as well as I can. I’ve mentioned that before. Really, it might be the other way around. I very well might try to do everything as well as I can because I enjoy working. You know? What I’m saying is a lot more simple than I am making it sound, I think. I just mean that there is no such thing as a ‘boring’ chore. Even the most simple, easy, thoughtless chores are ones you can devote yourself entirely. And if you can do that, then you can enjoy them. Enjoy being dedicated. Enjoy the task of ‘doing your best’. Don’t let yourself become somebody who can stop thinking. ‘Cause, really, we don’t live very long. Don’t waste time. When you relax, relax. When you work, work. Whatever you do, do it well. Age quod agis- Do what you do. That is, I think, going to be my senior quote, because it is the phrase that has defined my high school career. Do what you do. If you devote yourself entirely to the task at hand then everything else will fall in place. You will enjoy yourself. You will not be worried, because you are thinking only of what you are doing. It is dedication. Really though, it is also common sense. It doesn’t make sense to worry about things you can’t change. So, age quod agis, do what you do. If you live each ‘today’ to the best of your abilities, then every ‘tomorrow’ will be a good day. Because the future is born from the present. Live the present well, and the future will be a good future. So, enjoy being busy, because it makes the times when you are not busy all the better. =P That is my view on life, in a way. Do the job you are given, every job you are given, as best you can, and never stop doing that. It won’t let you down. Hard work will never betray you.

^ That was really ramble-y. I am always ramble-y, aren’t I? I’m sorry. I can’t seem to ever say what I want to say without saying everything I don’t want to first. And then I say infinitely more about what I am saying than I actually say. Isn’t it silly? It is a horrible flaw for an aspiring writer to have, I suspect.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND RELY! 

You know, it is hilarious how much I use my own Table of Contents. Literally, nobody else has ever visited the page, and I use it all the time. How silly is that? Same with the about. I was just looking at the stats, and the About page has been viewed…once. Ever. *shakes head*

Leave a Reply

