Flutter By

Flutter By (Written August 17, 2013)

Flutter by, butterfly,
O’er flowers, neath deep blue skies,
Beneath the sunlight’s glowing eyes
The butterfly goes fluttering by.

Head over heels for this beauty I fall,
Amazed as I am by this creature small,
So that I can watch I stop and stall-
Heels over head I trip and sprawl.

___

So, guess how I spent my day? You won’t get it right. I spent the whole day cleaning up the house in preparation for my brother’s going away party. >.< We haven’t exactly been keeping up on yard work. Ugh, I need to shower, so I will be brief. You know how awful it is to get covered in something you are allergic to? And have that same stuff floating around in the air, both inside and outside the house? I itch all over. And smell strongly of sage, since that is what I am covered in. If you have ever been on the plains of Colorado in the summer, you know what sage smells like. But I saw some really cool butterflies today. Which was cool. And my family, being the geeks that they are, ended up talking about the etymology of the word ‘butterfly’. There are two major theories. One is that it was originally ‘flutterbye’ and ended up being misspoken as ‘butterfly’. The other, as quoted from Etymonline.com,

Old English buttorfleoge, evidently butter (n.) + fly (n.), but of obscure signification. Perhaps based on the old notion that the insects (or witches disguised as butterflies) consume butter or milk that is left uncovered.

If you have ever read Fablehaven by Brandon Mull then it might help you to understand this if you think of the butterflies in the garden. If you haven;t read Fablehaven, then get to it! It was amazing, and Brandon Mull is an excellent author.

And, ok, really, I was way too busy doing grunge work today to actually think of much. Or notice much. =/ Thinking about it, I didn’t really do a good job of learning from my day today. I should go do that! While I shower. So, while I go do that, you should go read some of my other poems. They are all listed on my Table of Contents in the order they were posted, with the title of the post, as well as the tags the post was tagged with. So you’ll know exactly what the post was about. So you should go read some. =P

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND COMMENT!

Leave a Reply

