Daydreams

Daydreams (Written September 25, 2013)

When school just makes your temples hurt,
And soda just makes the heartburn worse,
When the preaching of retards just never ends,
And the smarts and good nature are all pretend,

When the sound of your teacher just makes you mad,
And the thoughts of your grades just makes you sad,
When the thought of class could make you scream,
I suppose all that’s left is to find a good dream.

Daydreams have saved me from going insane,
A safety switch flipped so I don’t fry my brain,
When the stress is too much for my sanity
I look to my daydreams to set me free.

I know that that’s running, but I don’t think it’s bad,
‘Cause they let me move more than reality had,
So I’ll dream and escape for a little bit more-
So I then can come back a bit better than before.

___

So, you know how sometimes you really just can’t deal with the idea that you have to go to school? Or work? Or have to spend time doing something or being with somebody that, at that moment, you just don’t want to? I know that feeling. I mean, generally, I have a very good control of my temper, but there are some days where I feel like I am going to scream at the first person who asks me to answer a question in class. There are just some days that are like that. Sometimes those days are fixed when you walk into school and your Spanish teacher offers you a freshly brewed cup of coffee (my hero), but we all know that it sometimes happens that that just isn’t gonna cut it. For me, that has always been solved by daydreaming.

Ok, so always isn’t totally true. Once upon a time I would blatantly pull out whatever book I was reading and blow off everybody and anybody until I finished the next chapter. (As much to blow off steam as to read, really. I just like books.) Turns out that teachers don’t like that. *Shrug* So, when I caved in and decided that I should stop purposely antagonizing my teachers, I decided I would start writing my own stories. So I did that. And then, worst of luck, my principle came up behind me while I was writing part of a chapter at the lunch table and asked to see the paper. >.> Let’s just say that I quickly learned that he was not a fan of magic. Just one of those people. He told me that I better not be caught writing at school if it wasn’t school work, and he could find me some extra school work if I really had so much free time. So that was the end of writing at school. But I’d grown attached to my stories. So I would think about what I was writing next and plan it out while I was at school, and then I would write it up at home.

And thus began my days of daydreaming at school.  By this point in time I had discovered that I actually like school, and am not too bad at it. I didn’t get ticked off as easily as before, so I didn’t need to find some way to blow off steam. I did it for fun. Don’t get me wrong, I pay attention to class. Occasionally I will split my attention between class and whatever story/poem I am developing, but I always make sure I am paying enough attention to class. Usually. There is one case that is just an all-time exception. Can you guess what that is?

That would be the ‘Bad Day’ that Daniel Powter sings about. (<- I love that song.) Those days when you are ready to murder whoever decides to tell you that you are late for class, or work, or a party, etc.. Those are the days that I decide to check out for a little bit and daydream for a while. And I feel entirely justified in doing so. To a degree. After all, I think that Tolkien had it right when he said,

“Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisoned by the enemy, don’t we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we’re partisans of liberty, then it’s our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”

Of course, so far as this analogy goes, I think it is important to remember that you are escaping to that you can come back and fight the enemy later. I daydream so that I can come back in a better mood and profit from the rest of the day at all, as apposed to just passing the whole time in a huff. You know?

THANK YOU FOR READING! YOU’D BE MY HERO IF YOU WOULD RATE AND REPLY TO THIS POST…=P

3 thoughts on “Daydreams

  1. I’m a dreamer too. It’s served me well throughout my life, except for the times I was hauled by the ear to the principal’s office for not paying attention in class. Dennis

Leave a Reply

