From Where?

Echo (Written October 16, 2013)

I am an echo, an echo
But what could be the source? the source
We all come from somewhere, somewhere
But you knew that of course, of course.

If I am an echo, an echo
What is it I repeat? repeat
I follow old footsteps on, on, on
But whose were those first feet? first feet

I go on and I echo, echo
Gone off from someone else, one else
But then so goes my own, my own
The echos of myself, myself

A million echos collide, collide
Each come from before, before
But what was the sound to start, to start
From which other echos are born? are born

___

So, I am taking a rhetoric class this year. Speech, debate, rhetoric- whatever you want to call it. I had to write a speech and give it to the class. We were told to pick our own topic. I was supposed to give it yesterday, but our teacher ended up in the hospital with Shingles, so that didn’t happen. For that matter, I can’t really think when it will happen. *shrug* But anyway.

I was writing my speech on why you need to study history. Sounds really interesting, right? Right. Let’s go with that. I decided to write about it based off of this one Terry Pratchett quote from I Shall Wear Midnight,

“It is important that we know where we come from, because if you do not know where you come from, then you don’t know where you are, and if you don’t know where you are, you don’t know where you’re going. And if you don’t know where you’re going, you’re probably going wrong.”

So, I based my whole speech off of that. Not terribly creative of me, I know, but I really am not very good with this whole public speaking thing. While I was thinking of the topic another quote came to mind, this one from Megan Whalen Turner, in The Kind of Attolia,

“So, Relius,” he said finally, “are you ready to discuss the resources of your queen?”

It was a curious question, like an echo without a source. As if Relius had once asked the king the same question and the king was casting it back at him.”

At which point I started to write a poem about where the echo came from. I was in a weird mood that day. And, while I like the concept of the poem, I think I am going to rewrite it before too long because I don’t think I did the concept justice.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

