A Divided Attention

An Attention Divided (Written February 28, 2014)

Oh the ignorance! Oh the bliss!
Of those who cannot realize this:
An attention divided again and again
Leave naught but distraction behind to remain.

___

Gah! You know, it is silly, but irritation always provokes my most well thought out thoughts. I get irritated so I start thinking about what I would say if I wanted to make a scene. I then think about how others would argue back… And I guess I end up thinking things through really well. Anywho, that is where this thought came from. I commented in class that I don’t like big schools because they, being larger and therefor requiring a larger amount of resources to run, tend to not be as nice as small schools. One of the people in the class said that was just me being pompous (my family started and ran two small school, both of them having a generally very high standard). I then said that it stands to reason that the more people are in a school, the less attention can be given to each particular student. This argument was not answered. They just said that small school can be run poorly, just like big schools, and that they can also both be run well. Not that that actually had anything to do with the argument. It was a bit like saying that, theoretically, if you put twenty monkeys in a room and made them hit the keys on a typewriter they would eventually type out Shakespeare, when you had been arguing about whether or not it was better to use typewriters or computers. Just about anything can happen. That has nothing to do with what actually happens. I dislike large schools because, by their very nature, they require that one teacher has to care for many more students than they can actually give time to, or that there are many more teachers- both of which result in a distant attitude between teachers and students, as well as just between students and students. That is just my opinion. People prefer different settings. But I really do think a smaller environment is more conducive to learning. Teachers get to know students better, which always helps them to teach each separate student more effectively. Because they have small classes, teachers can actually teach to specific students, rather than just material out of a book without consideration of the audience. That is basic rhetoric. Plus, when you have a small enough student body that everybody is at least acquainted with everybody else, students can really compete with each other, or help each other out without terribly great effort. This is all just my opinion, of course, and I have lived my whole life in a small school system. If you can give me some reason that a large school is better, please do. I would rather be able to see all sides of the argument.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

