And If You Close Your Eyes?

If You Close Your Eyes (Written March 23, 2014)

Close your eyes and what do you see?
Is it what was or what could be?
Is it fantastic, impossible,
A nightmare or something horrible?
Or do you see what used to be,
The thoughts from out your memory?
Or maybe for you it’s only black,
The stark reminder of what you lack.
Or do you search for where every secret lies,
When you look in the dark or close your eyes?

___

I was listening to that song Pompeii by Bastille and it made me want to write a poem. I love that song. Pompeii is such a cool place, with such a tragic history. That lyric, “And if your eyes does it almost feel like nothing’s changed at all?” is what really made me want to write a poem. So  I started thinking about my day and what I could write about. What did I do today? Well, I went to Mass, of course, then I bought my little sister a birthday gift (Happy Birthday Annie!), went home and slept for a while. I started thinking about this nightmare that I have every now and again. It is terrifying, but it is also a pretty good story, I think. So I wrote it down and posted it on my Short Stories blog. I’m actually contemplating extending it. You should check it out and tell me what you think.  It is called The CannibalThough, if scary stories creep you out don’t look at it.

(Now that I’ve advertised that…)

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

