When To Shut Up

When Best To Shut Up (Written April 21, 2014)

My advise when trying to prove a point-
When trying to change someone’s mind:
It is best to know when best to shut up
Or total denial is all you’ll find.

___

You know, I’ve said it once or twice before, but my sister is the perfect example of somebody who should never have gone to college. This is, of course, only my opinion, but if furthering your education results in you refusing to consider that anybody but the person who first educated you might be right- and, gasp, your first educator might be wrong- then I think you’ve completely squandered anything you might have gained. Especially in this case, where she wants to be a teacher. When she argues she, literally, uses ‘you’re just wrong’ as an answer to any argument against her. I love learning. If I could be paid to do research for people I would do it in a heartbeat. I would thoroughly enjoy studying and learning for the rest of my life. But every time I argue with her about anything concerning school I leave it feeling like, “Dang! I really never want to study anything ever again!” because everything she says is ‘well, logic would say this’ (when, no, it most certainly would not) or ‘well, my teacher says this, and he has a degree’ (when I don’t care what your teacher said, it is a matter of opinion, not fact, or, if it is fact, it is one that he has nothing but the vaguest uninformed opinion about, and, actually, the world’s best scientists haven’t come to an answer yet so how the heck could he?).  I’m going to the same college next year and I’ve visited before and thought it was ok, but she makes me want to burn the whole place to the ground. Seriously! If that is what going to college will make you into, you shouldn’t go. The more you learn the more you should be able to be open to the fact that there is always more to learn, and that you can be wrong, and that there are some things we just can’t ever know. Learning should open your mind to new ideas, while giving you the ability to discern which ones are good and right, and which ones are bad. If furthering your learning just results in you closing your mind to anything your teacher didn’t say then you have wasted your learning, and, frankly, I’m not so certain I trust your teachers (though, in this case, from what I’ve seen, this is just my sister being an idiot- it can, though, just be an awful teacher, I just don’t think it is.)

Well, that is my rant. You just can’t be so close-minded! I believe in absolute truth. What is true is true, even if you don’t like it. I believe that that applies to morals also- there is good, and there is bad, and those are neither relative nor subjective. And I think that being close minded is just going to result in you being able to see the truth. If you can’t consider an idea without having to believe it then your education was a failure. To quote Aristotle,

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.”

If I ever start behaving like the person I was ranting about above, or if what I say ever gives you a feel similar to that, please call me out right away. Post a comment declaring me a hypocrite and a fool, because that is what would be true. Please. Post a link back to this post if you think I need a little extra reminder. You don’t even have to explain yourself, just say I’m being like my sister and I’ll re-examine everything I’ve said.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

By the way! I’m looking for a senior quote (ever senior picks one, and it is supposed to sort of sum up your school career, or say something about how you wanna live your life, or how you feel about life). It can be just about anything. My brothers picked “Sic transit gloria mundi” (thus passes the glory of the world) and “It’s a dangerous business (…) going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” I just want mine to say something cool and inspiring. So, if you have any quotes you feel like tossing my way, please do. Leave it in a comment on any post, or on my quotes page. Thanks. C=

Leave a Reply

