The Fool

The Fool (Written September 16, 2014)

Fool, oh fool, you mighty fool,
You are so oft wrong, as a rule,
Yet you see yourself as being so wise-
No wonder you look such a fool in my eyes.

___

Yeah, I’ll do a favor to the person I write that about and not mention a name. Or the circumstances surrounding the writing of the poem. I certainly won’t mention anything like that.

I will, however, mention that you just really make yourself look both foolish and bullheaded when you are frequently, and confidently, and insistently, wrong. Being well read does not equate to being smart or correct. It just means you have the material to develop your intellect. Don’t ever make the mistake of thinking a “better” education makes you a “smarter” person. The best education in the world will not help you if you don’t learn. Or if you close your eyes to anything outside of what you received in that education. Humility is key in real intelligence. Not false humility, where you act like you are unimportant and blad-dee-dah. I mean real humility. Where you behave in such a way that indicates true knowledge of what you are worth. I won’t ever pretend like I am stupid just because, you know, I don’t wanna brag, or something equally stupid. I might not go around praising my own intellect or saying I am smarter than I am, but I won’t lie and say I am stupider than I am either. “A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool.”- William Shakespeare. (As You Like It is hilarious, by the way. I just went to see it at this Shakespeare festival that is being held right by the college I’m at, and it was excellent. I was laughing so hard my sides hurt.)

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

