Forward To The Past

Back to the Future (Written October 8, 2014)

Where do the roads go, where do they lead?
If I follow each and every turn will I one day be freed?
Freed from the fear of all the things that I don’t know,
Freed to know upon which path I would most wisely go?

For there are many paths to follow, many roads to take,
But they all lead to different places when away from each other they break.
So which should I follow to find which way to go
When I’m walking on an unknown path to a somewhere I don’t know?

I’ll trust the footprints in the dust that lead the way before me.
I’ll find the wisest set of prints to do the searching for me.
I’ll let the past shine bright before me so from ignorance I’ll be freed.
I’ll let the light of people past to the brightest future lead.

___

“It is important that we know where we come from, because if you do not know where you come from, then you don’t know where you are, and if you don’t know where you are, you don’t know where you’re going. And if you don’t know where you’re going, you’re probably going wrong.”
―Terry Pratchett

Let the past guide you. In the music class I’m taking right now our teacher keeps talking about how we need to learn from “Our dear, dead friends”, the music and musicians from the long gone past. How these friends can teach us, and comfort us, and warn us. Well, I happen to agree with him, and Terry Pratchett does too. I’m guess that part of why it is such an easy idea to agree to is that it is a pretty good idea. People from the past and what they did… what are these things? They’re stories. The people are gone, what they did ended a long time ago. What we have now are the stories. And, well:

“There is no friend as loyal as a book.”
Ernest Hemingway

So, well, love your history books. Love the music that was written thousands of years ago and is still here today. If it lasted that long, well, it is a friend that will probably not suddenly give up on you.

And this all sort of makes me think of this:

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

