Not Really Goodbye

Is This For Real? (Written May 25, 2016)

It might just be me,
But I don’t really feel
Like this is the end,
Like this goodbye is for real.
I feel like if I turn around,
Or call out like I normally do,
All of you will be standing there
And life will go on like we’re used to.
I feel like when tomorrow comes
You’ll be right here, with me,
Like something new starts, but the old didn’t end,
And we’ll be together again so shortly.
I feel like we’ve only just begun,
And it’s far too soon to say goodbye,
It doesn’t seem right to be leaving now
While the sun is still high in the sky.
I don’t want this to be farewell,
I don’t want this to be the end.
I don’t want to go and leave behind
All these people I’ve come to call friends.

___

Yeah…so, I just graduated from college. Just an associate’s degree in liberal arts. The classes were cool and whatnot, but I feel like I mostly gained friends from the experience. I really didn’t think there would ever be somewhere I would hate leaving as much as home, but there was. The really odd thing, though, is that I don’t feel like we really said goodbye. I feel like I’m going to see all of them tomorrow, and we will just continue on like we have been. I know that that isn’t going to happen, but I just don’t feel like that could possibly have been goodbye. We’d only just begun. We had car trouble on our drive back home, so one of the guys from the class below me came and picked us up. My brothers stayed with their car and I went back with my classmate. It was the first time I really got to talk to him. How on earth can I just start getting to know someone I think is amazing on my way to say goodbye. It just feels so wrong. And it’s not like I am likely to cross paths again with most of my friends. I don’t know. It just…feels unreal.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

Leave a Reply

