Be Magnanimous

Beware The Frozen Heart (Written November 6, 2016)

Beware the frozen heart, indeed,
For hearts of ice and stone don’t bleed.
A human heart will die that way,
Too frozen by fear to find kind words to say.
Don’t let that fear freeze my heart inside,
Let me be brave when I wish to hide.
Don’t let me grow hard and cold with time,
Let me keep this childhood heart of mine.
Help me be brave in this cowardly life,
Help me to rise above all the fear and all the strife
And be warm, and be kind, and full of love-
To remember to look always with thanks to God above.
Though it’s hard to keep caring when no one cares for you,
I want the strength for that to be a something I can do.
Give me a heart that is strong enough to be able to bleed,
And to fear the frozen end to which a selfish life may lead.

___

It has always been one of those things I fear growing up to be- a cold adult. A cold, hard, uncaring adult; a boring adult who lets their dreams die in favor of practicality- in the end, both are the same scared people. It isn’t easy to keep kindness in your life, any more than it is to keep the childhood magic. Sooner or later, most of us end up abandoning both in a gamble at self preservation. I don’t want to become a scared adult. I want to be magnanimous, big-souled. 

In Aristotle’s Nichomachian Ethics he talks about magnanimity, and how one must posses all the virtues if they wish to be truly magnanimous. He calls it the crowning virtue. 

Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquility and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.- the dictionary

I want to be that person. In the face of opposition on the way to some good end, the magnanimous person doesn’t waver. To those in need of help they can offer, the magnanimous person doesn’t hesitate. Magnanimity abhors small-mindedness, and all pretty acts that flow from it. 

The magnanimous person is the one who does not fall to fear, who continues through trials, and sees the magic that others have forgotten and grown blind to. That is who I want to be.

THANK YOU FOR READING! PLEASE RATE AND REPLY!

This came to mind, by the way, when I watched the music video for Melted by Akdong Musician (also known as AKMU), and read the lyrics. It is a very powerful song and video, and they are phenomenal musicians. I highly recommend their work.

3 thoughts on “Be Magnanimous

Leave a Reply

